Managing Opt-Outs through Twilio Channels

Opt-outs are common among SMS ("Robotext") and IVR ("Robocall") services. According to the TCPA (see our guide here), your contacts should have the ability to do so at any time. Use this guide to learn how to track and manage these contacts via Twilio and your TextIt account. 

How Twilio Manages Opt-outs

When a contact sends STOP, STOPALL, UNSUBSCRIBE, CANCEL, END or QUIT to one of your Twilio numbers, Twilio will prevent them from receiving any additional messages until that contact responds START. Specifically, they'll receive the following message:

"You have successfully been unsubscribed. You will not receive any more messages from this number. Reply START to resubscribe." 

When that contact resubscribes, they'll receive the following message: 

"You have successfully been resubscribed to messages from this number. Reply HELP for help. Reply STOP to unsubscribe. Msg&Data Rates May Apply." 

How TextIt Manages Opt-outs

When Twilio notifies us that a contact has blacklisted one of your Twilio numbers, we place that contact in the default 'Stopped' group in your account's Contacts tab. The contact is removed from all other groups and specially marked so that any outbound message attempts are blocked.

(Use this guide to have Twilio notify you of errors–like the 21610 blacklist error mentioned in this article–via email.)

For more information on proper SMS or IVR-based communication, consult our TCPA compliance guide